It’s prime time at the grocery store- Monday around 630/7 I walk in with no gourmet recipe at hand and find a long line of hungry, anxious New York professionals waiting to check out.  They all had probably just gotten out of work like I had and needed to do the grocery shopping for the week or pick up some dinner or lunch for the next day.  I approach the meat section for my weekly chicken cutlet and pass by a large pot of simmering tomato soup that caught my eye and stirred my appetite.  A grilled cheese dipped into a large bowl of tomato soup.  How classic for a rainy day.  Mmmm.  My comfort food.

My favorite cheese is Swiss, not Gouda. Gouda is a close second.  Sorry all you Gouda lovers- but Swiss is the cheese for me.  I bought some French sourdough bread that turned out to be stale but later learned that if you’re gonna toast, it’s OK to buy stale bread.   And folks, yes, I cheated. The tomato soup was not an original.

I got home and assembled my perfect grilled cheese, heated up the George Forman Grill- placed the sandwich on the grill and pressed it down- Threw my side of soup in the microwave for 2 minutes.  When the light goes off it’s grilled cheese time! It was so cheesy that some of it stuck on George Forman.   MMMMM Good.  The bread was so crispy it cracked as I broke it in half.  I love grilled cheese sandwiches.  Maybe next time I’ll make something a little more outrageous, but sometimes it’s the simplest things that are classic.