My chicken stir fry turned into soup.   I added too much chicken stock and I burned my garlic.  It’s all about the timing and I just suck at it.  While my garlic was cooking, browning and then eventually turned black, I was washing my chicken and cutting it on a cutting board in thin strips like the recipe said.   I used two recipes from Gourmet- one was to make coconut rice and the other was a simple chicken stir fry dish.

Coconut Rice

The recipe for the rice had me use butter and unsweetened coconut milk- note: do not taste the unsweetened coconut milk; it doesn’t taste very good.  Of course, I burned the butter (it’s all about the timing) but it added crispiness to the rice and some color as well. Notice the brown bits in the rice… that’s from the burned butter.   I liked the coconut rice- it was very easy to make.

Ratings:

Taste: 5- I gave my self extra points for the crisp factor.  I like crispy rice.  I could have used more than a can of coconut milk because I felt that it could have used a touch more flavor.  But overall I really enjoyed it and it was very easy to make.  I’d  make it over and over again.

Do-ability:

5- Very easy.  You heat a sauce pan with butter and oil on medium high heat.  Then you add in the rice and water (the recipe said to soak the water in a sieve for 30 seconds, but I didn’t have one so I just threw all the ingredients in the sauce pan and cooked it covered for 20 minutes.  I do wonder what it would have tasted like if I had soaked the rice in water for 30 seconds.

This is what happens when you add too much chicken broth and let it simmer down.  The

Ratings:

Taste: Chicken dried out from cooking in the broth for too long 2- probably the worst chicken I made.

Do-ability:

5- very easy to make.  I’d do the chicken differently next time.  Next time, I’ll add a touch of chicken broth for a flavor enhancement.  I won’t add the whole can.

The broth wasn’t too salty and the Serrano chilies added great spice to my bite.   My stomach wasn’t too happy after this dish, but Wade liked it and said it was pretty decent.